The powers of the Elected President are set out in the Constitution of the Republic of Singapore. These powers largely fall into two categories – discretionary powers and non-discretionary powers.




Discretionary powers

The President has the power to veto or disagree with the Government’s proposals in the following areas:


Areas in which the President has the power to veto or disagree with the Government’s proposals and consultation with the CPA is optional:


If the President vetoes any fiscal matters touching on Singapore’s reserves or the appointment/removal of any key office holder in the public service or Fifth Schedule entity, and the President’s decision is contrary to CPA’s advice, Parliament may overrule the President’s decision with a two-thirds majority vote.


Protection of Past Reserves


President Halimah Yacob and CPA members at a briefing by Ministry of Finance.

President Halimah Yacob and CPA members at a briefing by Ministry of Finance.


The President acts as the guardian of Past Reserves – reserves that were accumulated before the current term of the Government. This includes past reserves accumulated by key statutory boards and Government companies (SBGC) listed under the Fifth Schedule to the Constitution. SBGCs include GIC Pte Ltd, Temasek Holdings Pte Ltd, the Housing and Development Board (HDB), Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS), Central Provident Fund Board (CPFB) and Jurong Town Corporation (JTC).


The President may exercise discretionary power and veto any budget or specific transaction (such as the giving of guarantees or raising of loans) of the Government or a Fifth Schedule SBGC if, in the opinion of the President, the proposed budget or transaction is likely to lead to a draw on the Past Reserves.


The President does not direct the operations or the investment strategies of the Government or the Fifth Schedule SBGCs. However, in the case of the CPF Board, the President can veto any Bill passed by the Parliament that directly or indirectly affects the Board’s investment powers.


President Halimah Yacob and CPA members at a briefing by the Monetary Authority of Singapore.


Appointment of Key Office Holders


In the interest of ensuring the impartiality of the public sector, the President has discretionary power to veto the appointment or removal of —


(i) key office holders in the public service listed in Article 22 of the Constitution such as the Chief Justice, Judges of the Supreme Court, Attorney-General, Auditor-General, Director of Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau, Chairman and members of the Public Service Commission, Chief of Defence Force and Commissioner of Police;

(ii) any chairman, board member or chief executive officer of a Fifth Schedule Statutory Board (Article 22A of the Constitution); and

(iii) any director or chief executive officer of a Fifth Schedule Government company (Article 22C of the Constitution)

ISA detention orders, Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau (CPIB) investigations and restraining orders in relation to the maintenance of religious harmony


Briefing with CPIB in March 2018.


The continued detention of a person under the Internal Security Act (ISA) requires the President’s concurrence if the Government disagrees with the recommendation of the advisory board (established under the ISA) that the person be released (Article 151(4) of the Constitution).


Investigations by the CPIB may be carried on with the President’s concurrence under Article 22G of the Constitution notwithstanding that the Prime Minister does not consent to such investigations.


Under Article 22I of the Constitution, restraining orders made under the Maintenance of Religious Harmony Act (MRHA) must subsequently be confirmed by the President. The President has the power to cancel or vary a restraining order if the advice of the Cabinet on the matter differs from the recommendation of the Presidential Council for Religious Harmony (established under the MRHA).



Non-discretionary powers

Non-discretionary powers of the President refer to matters in which the President has no discretion and must act in accordance with the advice of the Cabinet or a Minister.


For example, the President must act in accordance with the Cabinet's advice regarding the pardon of a person convicted of an offence. The President must also act in accordance with the Prime Minister's advice on the appointment of Ministers.